-
3 minutes, 22 seconds
Amazon’s new integrations for Alexa+ are not available as a free add-on: access requires a subscription. That makes the subscription an important part of the announcement, alongside the integrations themselves. Users who want Alexa+ to work with Amazon’s services will need to subscribe rather than rely on the standard Alexa experience alone.
The integrations are designed to bring Amazon services into Alexa+, allowing people to use them through the assistant. But the added capabilities come with a cost, so whether they are useful will depend in part on whether the subscription is worthwhile for each user. The announcement also points to a distinction between Alexa+ and the existing Alexa experience: these new integrations are tied to the newer service and its paid access.
For anyone considering the integrations, the key point is straightforward: a subscription is required. The features are not presented as something users can unlock independently or receive automatically with a regular Alexa device. Details about the integrations, a magnetic phone version, and availability are covered separately.
The Amazon integrations are designed to make the Oura Ring more useful for people who use Amazon services. With Alexa+, users can ask questions and get responses from the ring, bringing the assistant into a wearable format.
The integrations also connect Oura with Amazon’s health and shopping services. The source identifies Amazon Health and Amazon Pharmacy as part of the offering, alongside Alexa+. Together, these connections are intended to bring health-related services and Amazon’s assistant to Oura users.
These features are tied to an Oura membership, rather than being presented as standalone capabilities available to anyone with a ring. The source describes the Amazon additions as integrations with Oura, but does not specify further functions for Amazon Health or Amazon Pharmacy. It also does not detail how the services work together or what users can ask Alexa+ to do beyond asking questions and receiving responses.
Amazon is also planning a magnetic version of its Alexa+ integrations for phones. The company says this option is coming “soon,” but has not yet shared a specific release date. It is intended to bring the integrations to a phone, rather than limiting them to Echo devices or Fire TV.
The announcement points to a more flexible way to use Alexa+ with the services included in the integrations. However, details about how the magnetic phone version will work have not been provided. Amazon has not explained what the magnetic accessory will look like, which phones it will support, or whether it will include the same features as the versions for Echo Show and Fire TV.
For now, “soon” is the only timing Amazon has given for the phone option. The company has also not announced pricing or other availability details for it. Until Amazon shares more information, users interested in a magnetic version for their phone will have to wait for further specifics.
The source offers only limited information about when the magnetic version of the Amazon integrations will be available. It says a magnetic version designed for a phone is coming, but does not provide a release date, launch window, or other timing details. In other words, “coming” is the only timing indication given.
The source also states that using Alexa+ and the Amazon integrations requires a subscription. It does not give further information about the subscription requirements, such as which plan is needed or what it costs. Nor does it explain whether the upcoming magnetic version will have separate availability or subscription terms.
Beyond the stated subscription requirement and the brief note that the phone version is coming, the source gives no further availability details. It does not say where or when the integrations or magnetic version will be offered, how to get them, or whether availability will vary by location. Those details are not specified in the source.
Comment